Invitation : a tempting allurement

Posted On April 7, 2009

Filed under Wedding

Comments Dropped leave a response

When I googled the definition of an invitation, that was the one that stuck with me. A tempting allurement. That’s what you want your wedding invitation to be to everyone that opens it. Something that makes them say awww, they’re getting married! and I cannot miss that one! Not another obligation they feel they must attend.

But how do you make your invitation, cost-effective, and cool at the same time? Something that screams, AWESOME WEDDING!

Wedding invitations are definitely something I am not thinking I need to spend a lot of money. Then again, I had no idea how much wedding invitation cost. Holy moly!

invitation

I’d looked at lots of invitation websites, until I realized I had no idea the quality of these. Which lead me to start pulling out the invitation books at a couple stores. But I was shocked by cost vs what they were.

Then I went back to my original concept, I’ll just DIY them. A couple scrapbooking flairs and I’d be all prettied up.  I started pricing things out and thinking about the time and I was back at square one. This won’t be all that cheaper.

winter_invitations

Then back in February, the fiance and my mom has adventured to the Bravo wedding show and I’d remembered meeting a graphic designer there who did free invitation consultants.

Maybe this was the path? I set an appointment. My vision was of something unique and creative, but also the ability to flex the design in order to fit my fuzzy budget.  The fiance and I were off to meet her this past Saturday.

We sat down and were before we knew it were in a flurry of card stock, and double talk.  Fiance was totally immersed into the fun of picking fonts and card stock. Bless him! Because I felt like before I’d had the chance to say “I’d like…” I was suddenly in the midst of seeing what my final invitation would look like. Which was exciting and overwhelming because this was suddenly a very elaborate invitation with pockets and pieces. When I mentioned my rough budget, a chuckle rolled out of her, as she said oh well that’s kinda low. “You do realize this is the entire mood setter for your wedding.”

tiffany_open

After this whirlwind two hours, I walked out without writing a check, or committing to anything. Just more ideas and more time to think…

How easy was it for you to choose wedding invitations?

Leave a Reply

